How to Remove the Share Button on Facebook

Facebook allows you to control who can tag you in photos and videos, who can comment on your posts, and who blocks sharing your wall content. 

According to your privacy settings, you and other users to share Facebook posts and Facebook Places so that you can check in at different places. 

Some of us might want our friends and family to see what we post on Facebook, but we might want them to keep it private from others.

We have put together a guide to help you how to remove the share Button from your Facebook posts if you’re one of those people who don’t want their posts to be shared with others. 

There is also a facility on Facebook where you can recover Deleted Posts on Facebook and search for Facebook Posts by date.

If you do not want your posts to be shared without your permission, you can remove your share button by following a few simple steps.

How to Remove the Share Button from Facebook

Our article below will show you how to remove the share button from both your Android and iOS mobile app and your PC’s privacy settings:

Method 1: Android / iOS Mobile App

Step 1: Open the Facebook mobile app and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: Your newsfeed will appear after your credentials are verified.

Step 3:you will see the menu icon,  On the top-right corner of your screen.                                                                                                  

Step 4: Click on  “Settings & Privacy

Step 5: Choose “Settings”.

Step 6: Menu on the left side, tap Profile Settings, and then Profile and Tagging.

Step 7:  Click on “Allow others to share your posts to their story.”

Step 8: Choosing “No” will remove the sharing button from your Facebook posts for everyone.

Method 2: Desktop / PC

Step 1: Open the Facebook web browser and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: you will see the menu icon,  On the top-right corner of your screen.   

Step 3: Click on  “Settings & Privacy

Step 4: Choose “Settings”.

Step 5: Select Privacy from the leftmost menu 

Step 6: Then click on Stories.

Step 7: Lastly, by clicking the toggle icon in the right panel, you can turn off Allow others to share your public stories.

You can choose who can see specific posts

The option allows you to control who can see the posts you make on Facebook, so that not only people who aren’t friends can’t see them, but also certain friends can’t see them.

Method 1: On the mobile app 

Step 1: Open the Facebook mobile app and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: On your screen’s top-right corner, click the profile icon once you have been redirected to your newsfeed.

Step 3: You can restrict viewing of your post once you open your profile and scroll down to the post you want your friends to be able to share.

Step 4: Click on the three dots in the top-right corner of your post

How to Remove the Share Button from Facebook desktop pc
How to Remove the Share Button from Facebook desktop pc

 Step 5: Click on Edit Post Privacy from the options

 Step 6: Choose Friends, so your Friends can see the post

Step 7: It is possible to limit sharing of your posts to specific people by selecting “Friends except” and then adding names of people here. This will allow the rest of your friend list to share your posts.

Method 2: On Desktop /PC

Step 1: Open the Facebook web browser and sign in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: On your screen’s top-right corner, click the profile icon once you have been redirected to your newsfeed.

Step 3: You can restrict viewing of your post once you open your profile and scroll down to the post you want your friends to be able to share.

Step 4: Your privacy settings may indicate a globe or person silhouette

Step 5: If you want your post to only be seen by your friends, select Friends

Step 6: By selecting Friends Except, you can select the friends you don’t want to see your posts.

Step 7:To see only the posts that you DO want to see, select Specific Friends

How to Make sure only friends can see your posts

Follow these steps to set your Facebook friends only to see your posts, reels, stories, and soundbites:

Method 1: On the mobile app 

Step 1: Open the Facebook mobile app and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: On your screen’s top-right corner, click the profile icon

Step 3: Scroll down and tap on Settings and Privacy 

Step 4:Then Click on Settings

Step 5: Scroll down and click on Followers and Public Content

Step 6: Change Who Can Follow Me to Friends.  Which content types can be viewed by whom, such as posts only, stories only, and reels only, are available to you?

Method 2: On Desktop /PC

Step 1: Open the Facebook web browser and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: On your screen’s top-right corner, click the profile icon

Step 3: Scroll down and tap on Settings and Privacy 

Step 4:Then Click on Settings

Step 5:  Scroll down and select Public Posts 

Step 6: you will see Who Can Follow Me on the top right of the screen.

Step 7: You can select either Friends or Public from the dropdown menu.

Step 8: Select Friends

Step 9: Posts and other content on Facebook will be visible only to your Facebook friends.

How can block people who don’t want to share your information? 

The steps below will guide you through blocking someone on Facebook:

Method 1: On the mobile app 

Step 1: Open the Facebook mobile app and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: On your screen’s top-right corner, click the profile icon

Step 3: Scroll down and tap on Settings and Privacy 

Step 4:Then Click on Settings

Step 5: Scroll down and click on blocking

Step 6: Click Block after typing the name of the person you want to block.

Method 2: On Desktop /PC

Step 1: Open the Facebook web browser and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: On your screen’s top-right corner, click the profile icon

Step 3: Scroll down and tap on Settings and Privacy 

Step 4:Then Click on Settings

Step 5:  Scroll down and select blocking

Step 6: Click on Edit at Block Users

Step 7: To add someone to the blocked list, 

Step 8: Enter the name of the person you want to block then click on the block. 

 How to Delete the Post

The steps below will guide you on how to delete the post on Facebook:

Method 1: On the mobile app and On the Desktop /PC

Step 1: Open the Facebook app or web browser and log in to your account by entering your username and password.

Step 2: You can restrict viewing of your post once you open your profile and scroll down to the post you want your friends to be able to share.

Step 3: Click on the three dots in the top-right corner of your post and click on more 

Step 4:Then select the Delete option 

Step 5: Once prompted, confirm the deletion

Reasons Why People Post on Facebook

The majority of individuals use social media platforms to entertain themselves, gain information, and help others.

It is a simple reflection of how each individual is and what their values, interests, and beliefs are that they share on Facebook.

Through likes, comments, and shares, Facebook helps people stay in touch, even if they don’t communicate daily.

Facebook is also a great way for people to share their good news with their family and friends. This is a great place to let people share your happiness and send their best wishes. New jobs, college graduations, marriages, and children are just a few examples.

It serves as a medium for people to share their views on world affairs and politics.

You are also randomly reminded of the memories you created by Facebook posts from years ago, say. 

Conclusion: 

This guide shows you how to completely remove the share button from all your Facebook posts. In order to protect its users’ privacy, Facebook offers options for them to limit who has access to their posts and who can share them with others.