How to Hide Your Facebook Marketplace Listings from Friends

A social media platform, such as Facebook, offers features such as Facebook Marketplace that make buying and selling even more convenient and a huge opportunity for online sellers to expand their customer base. 

You can use the application to sell your goods or showcase your product live, or take orders via direct messages.

In Facebook Marketplace, you can list anything you want to sell online and make sure it reaches everyone, including friends, so businesses can thrive

People who may have different opinions about a listing or a product may always judge it based on the price or the listing.

Therefore, you would want to hide your listing from your friends since they might try to negotiate a lower price or if your friend is also in the same market for your product or service

It allows you to Hide Your Facebook Marketplace Listings from Friends also if you are unable to change the location of your Marketplace, it offers the option to view messages from Marketplace.

So those people who are uncomfortable sharing their posts. Here are steps on how to hide your Facebook Marketplace Listings from Friends on an iPhone, iPad, or Android device, and on Facebook.com.

How to Hide Your Facebook Marketplace Listings from Friends

In the Facebook Marketplace, you can make listings that are accessible to everyone, including your friends, even if you do not wish to share them. When you publish these listings, you have the option of hiding them.

Android/iPhone

  • Open the Facebook app on your phone
  • Log in to your account
  • Click Hamburger Menu in the top-right corner of the screen
  • Then select the “Marketplace” option
  • Tap the Person Icon in the upper right corner 
  • Next, go to Settings.
  • Click on “Manage selling settings
  • The option Hide all listings from friends can be found in the search results.
  • To enable the feature, turn on the toggle button
  • You’re now ready to go.

Desktop/PC

  • Open the Facebook app on your phone 
  • Log in to your account
  • Click Hamburger Menu in the top-right corner of the screen
  • Then select the “Marketplace” option
  • Tap the Person Icon in the upper right corner 
  • By selecting the “Sell” option if you already have one, you can then enter your “listings” by clicking on Selling

  • Choose “Edit Listing” from the drop-down menu after selecting the listing you want to edit.
  • Hide your listing from your friends by turning on the toggle button “hide from friends”.
  • Tap on the “Publish” button located in the upper right corner of the app once you have enabled the finish and are satisfied with the details of your Marketplace listing.

How to Hide New Facebook Marketplace Listings from Friends

  • Open the Facebook app on your phone 
  • Log in to your account
  • Click Hamburger Menu in the top-right corner of the screen
  • Then select the “Marketplace” option
  • Tap the Person Icon in the upper right corner 
  • then tap Create New Listing.
  • In the menu select the Items listing type. 
  • You can enable Hide from friends by tapping the Toggle icon to the right of the listing options section.

When you publish your listing to Facebook or Messenger, it won’t be visible to your friends.

Other than your friends, who can see your hidden listings on Facebook Marketplace

Listings will still be visible to people who are not your “friends” even after you enable the “hide from friends” feature. 

  • You will still be able to view your marketplace listings if a friend later unfriends you.
  • Once you have created a link to your listing, people outside of the app can view it by clicking the link.
  • You can allow your friends of Facebook friends to see your listings.

Can My Friends See What I Buy on Marketplace?

Unless you choose to share the information with others, any information you share with the seller will remain private.

Can you Hide Facebook Marketplace Listings from Your Facebook Friends?

You can hide only listings under the category “Item” from your Facebook friends. Vehicles, rentals, and property cannot be hidden. Facebook Marketplace listings are not automatically posted to your timeline, however, your friends may discover them while browsing the marketplace if they are not hidden.

Is your Marketplace post visible on your Timeline?

Go to the listing you wish to share and select it. Next, click Share, then “Share to News Feed” to edit the post.

Once you have finalized the post, click “Post” in the upper right corner.

Conclusion:

In the Facebook marketplace, we don’t send listings to friends automatically unless they access them there or you send them personally. Apartments, homes, and vehicles can only be hidden under the item’s category.

If you have any questions about any of the steps, please let me know in the comment section.